Call for papers

19th International Conference on Analytical and Stochastic Modelling Techniques and Applications (ASMTA'12)

Grenoble, France, 4-6 June 2012


Methods of analytical and stochastic modelling are widely used in engineering to assess and design various technical and information systems, like computer and communication networks, software systems, and distributed systems. The ASMTA conference is a main forum for advancing these techniques and their applications and aims to bring together researchers of academia and industry to discuss the latest developments in analytical, numerical and simulation algorithms for stochastic systems, including (non-) Markovian processes, queueing networks, stochastic Petri nets, process algebras, game theory, etc. The conference is co-sponsored by the IEEE UK-RI Computer Chapter and ECMS - The European Council for Modelling and Simulation.

The proceedings of ASMTA'12 will be published as Springer Verlag Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series which is indexed by SCOPUS and ISI Web of Science.

Scope & topics

ASMTA 2012 solicits original contributions that include, but are not limited to, the following aspects of stochastic modelling:

Paper submission

Full papers reporting original and unpublished research results on ASMTA topics are solicited. Submissions should not be under consideration for publication elsewhere while being evaluated for this conference.


The proceedings will be published in the Springer Verlag Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series. Submissions may already be prepared in LNCS format and must not exceed 15 pages, including figures, tables and references; see the information for authors on Springer's web site for formatting instructions. Please clearly indicate the corresponding author.


The paper submission for ASMTA 2012 will only be accepted through the easychair Paper Submission System accessible here. Only papers in PDF will be accepted for reviewing. Submissions as e-mail attachment will not be accepted.


Consistent with standard practice, each submitted paper will receive rigorous peer reviewing. Papers will be selected based on their originality, timeliness, significance, relevance, and clarity of presentation. Selection will be based on full papers.

Submission implies the willingness of at least one of the authors to register and present the paper, if accepted. All accepted papers in the conference are expected to be presented and will be included in the conference proceedings.

Best paper award

The ASMTA 2012 Committee will select the best paper of the conference for which a certificate will be presented at the end of the conference.

Important dates

Full paper submissions10 February 2012
Acceptance notification14 March 2012
Final paper plus registration and payment28 March 2012
Conference4-6 June 2012

Organising committee

General chair

Khalid Al-Begain (University of Glamorgan, Wales, UK)

Programme chairs

Dieter Fiems (Ghent University, Belgium)
Jean-Marc Vincent (INRIA, Grenoble, France)

International Programme Committee

Sergey AndreevTampere University of Technology, Finland
Jonatha AnselmiBasque Center for Applied Mathematics, Spain
Konstantin AvrachenkovINRIA Sophia-Anitipolis, France
Jeremy BradleyImperial College London, UK
Herwig BruneelGhent University, Belgium
Giuliano CasaleImperial College, UK
Hind CastelInstitut Telecom-Telecom SudParis, France
Koen De TurckGhent University, Belgium
Alexander DudinBelarusian State University, Belarus
Antonis EconomouUniversity of Athens, Greece
Paulo FernandesPontifical Catholic University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brasil
Jean-Michel FourneauUniversity of Versailles, France
Rossano GaetaUniversity of Turin, Italy
Marco Gribaudo Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Yezekael HayelUniveristy of Avignon, France
Andras HorvathUniversity of Turin, Italy
Helen Karatza Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
William KnottenbeltImperial College, UK
Lasse LeskeläUniversity of Jyväskylä, Finland
Remco LitjensTNO ICT, The Netherlands
Don McNickle University of Canterbury, New Zealand
Panayotis MertikopoulosEcole Polytechnique, Paris, France
Yoni NazarathySwinburne University of Technology, Australia
José Niño-MoraUniversidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain
Antonio PachecoInstituto Superior Tecnico, Portugal
Balakrishna PrabhuLaas-CNRS, France
Matteo Sereno University of Turin, Italy
Bruno SericolaINRIA Rennes - Bretagne Atlantique, France
Janos Sztrik Lajos Kossuth University, Hungary
Miklos TelekBudapest University of Technology, Hungary
Nigel ThomasUniversity of Newcastle, UK
Corinne TouatiINRIA Grenoble, France
Dietmar TutschUniversity of Wuppertal, Germany
Kurt Tutschku University of Vienna, Austria
Benny van HoudtUniversity of Antwerp, Belgium
Sabine WittevrongelGhent University, Belgium
Katinka WolterHumboldt University of Berlin, Germany
Michele ZorziUniversity of Padova